Wednesday, August 3, 2011

Day 2 & 3: Training

Just before I start this post, I would just like to say that I just watched two episodes of keeping up with the kardashians and two episodes of sex and the city - so my iq might have dropped more than a little. (butt X-rays and implants - really)??

So for the past two days, I've been staying at galludet university - one of the universities designed specially for deaf and hard of hearing college students locate in washington d.c. It's kind of walking into a foreign country because everyone signs and not a lot of people talk. Everyone includes the people serving food and the bus drivers, as well as any emergency personnel that come to campus. As someone who doesnt sign, this can be a little alienating. But I've done my best to really try to learn sign language. Right now I can say : see the orange talking duck - probably not the most helpful phrase to know, but thankfully I have lots of people to help with translating and teaching new words. Unfortunately, British sign language is very different from American, so I'm sure I'll be even more confused when I meet up with them on friday.

The rest of the american team arrives tonight, and then we all leavE for Portugal tomorrow at 5pm. I get to see my team on Friday evening at the hotel - and then it's time to compete!

No comments:

Post a Comment